SPDC Niger Delta Postgraduate Scholarship Scheme 2021 – Fully funded to study in UK


The Shell Petroleum Development Company of Nigeria Limited (SPDC), operator of the SPDC Joint Venture, is pleased to announce the Tenth Annual NNPC / SPDC_JV Niger Delta Postgraduate Scholarship for applicants from Bayelsa, Delta, Imo and Rivers. The aim of the scholarship program is to provide postgraduate study opportunities in courses relevant to the oil and gas industry, to qualifying students from these Niger Delta states.

In the nine years of this program, 92 students have had the opportunity to study at the best universities in the UK with full scholarships

For the academic year beginning in September 2021, SPDC has partnered with three universities in the UK – Imperial College London; University of Leeds; and the University of Aberdeen will award scholarships for one-year graduate M.Sc. studies.

Benefits and Conditions for Shell Postgraduate Scholarships

The scholarship covers tuition, one economic return flight ticket from Nigeria to the United Kingdom and only a contribution to the cost of living.
Note that the grants (cost of living) are based on the published delivery rates of the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) and are limited to this only.
It’s an unlimited scholarship. Note that neither SPDC nor any Shell company is required to present any rating to any candidate after graduation, nor are successful candidates affiliated to SPDC for any period due to the scholarship.
SPDC only offers medical insurance in accordance with UK student visa requirements

Shell Postgraduate Studies Courses.

The following courses qualify for the awarding of bursaries to the three institutions:

Imperial College London

MSc Petroleum Engineering
MSc Applied Computer Science and Engineering
University of Abeerdeen

MSc Geophysics
MSc Safety and Reliability Engineering for Oil and Gas
MSc Advanced Chemical Engineering
University of Leeds

MSc Exploration Geophysics
MSc Electronic / Electrical Engineering

Read Also Offa Development Foundation (ODF) Scholarship Awards 2021/2022

Eligible for the Shell Postgraduate Scholarship.

To qualify for the scholarship, applicants must; shows intellectual ability and leadership potential have an adequate standard of English (at least 6.5 in IELTS) and meet the language requirements of the College offered admission to study on one of the eligible courses at the College that have applied through the normal application process already hold a degree of an equivalent standard (or expect to have a higher second-class honors degree by the time of the scholarship) must have completed the National Youth Service by September 2021 normally resides in Rivers, Imo, Delta or Bayelsa States of Nigeria and intends to return to Nigeria at the end of the study period have not yet had the opportunity to study in the United Kingdom or in another developed country be between 21 and 28 years old by 30/09/2021

currently living in Nigeria

plans to return to Nigeria upon completion of the proposed study program

has a Nigerian international passport valid until December 2021

Employees, relatives of employees (or former employees who have left service for less than 5 years) of SPDC, Royal

Dutch SHELL Group of Companies or the College may not apply for the bursaries

How to Apply for Shell Postgraduate Scholarship.

Application forms for the scholarship are ONLY available via the websites of Imperial College London, the University of Leeds and the University of Aberdeen, following a formal offer of admission by the University.

Click here to apply for Imperial College London

Click here to apply to the University of Leeds

Click here to apply to the University of Aberdeen

please note

The universities will process applications and select candidates to attend interviews before being considered for final selection.
Completed application forms must reach participating universities no later than the deadline – 15 April 2020.
More information on specific admission requirements for courses can be found on the websites of the three individual universities.


Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *